The Garden Caesar

The ‘Caesar’ was originally created by Canadian Walter Chell, who set out to create a liquid version of ‘spaghetti alle vongole in rosso’  or spaghetti with clams and tomato.

The result consists of: vodka, clam nectar, tomato juice, lime, Worcestershire sauce and celery salt.

IMG_0033We LOVE caesars in my family, which means we can get very creative with our ‘caesar bar’ station when we get together. This garden party theme pays homage to my mom and mother nature, on ‘Mother’s Day’. IMG_0028

The Garden Caesar:

celery salt (for rim)
1/4 lime squeezed
1-2 ounces vodka
splash of Worcestershire sauce
1 teaspoon freshly grated horseradish root, or prepared horseradish
6 ounces tomato juice with clam nectar
1-2 dashes of tabasco sauce

Rim a glass with celery salt. Combine all remaining ingredients in a tall cocktail glass over ice. Garnish with pickle and edible flower.

IMG_0030

IMG_0034Try substituting the vodka for tequila or gin, and adding a creative garnish like smoked oysters, chive flowers, strong cheddar, crispy bacon, or home-made pickles (shown from last years garden bounty).IMG_0031

IMG_0029
Looking for a simple caesar cocktail? Walter brand caesar mix includes all the seasonings in a “ready to drink” package. Just add your alcohol of choice, salt the rim and add your garnish! 

 

IMG_0032

Now here’s something that often makes people giggle: I DO NOT LIKE TOMATOES! Not at all, not even a bit, but gosh do I love a good caesar! E N J O Y

15 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks so good!! Can’t wait to have some time off and enjoy summer!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Alethea says:

    Ooo wee! This looks like such a decadent cocktail. I haven’t had a Cesar in absolutely forever. But this recipe post has convinced me to get some ingredients together at home and give it a go! Maybe for the next long weekend. Thanks for sharing. Great pics too!

    Like

  3. Amber Myers says:

    I have never tried anything like this before but I certainly would. It looks so refreshing!

    Like

  4. Meera says:

    The presentation is nice. I don’t take alcohol but the way you have served is impressive. I can serve my mocktail with the salt on the rim. 🙂

    Like

  5. Mamabops says:

    I’ve never had one of these! You make them look delicious, though. Your photography is so gorgeous! I’ll have to try one once I’m not pregnant anymore.

    Like

  6. Jhilmil says:

    This looks so refreshing, the photos are way too tempting that I have an urge to taste it now:)

    Like

  7. alifeofauthenticity says:

    Oh Wow, how about just reading the ingredients and seeing the photo actually gave me a lemony tart taste in my mouth. Boy the mind is an amazing organ. LOL Thanks for the recipe. I envision this tasting really good.

    Like

  8. I don’t drink alcohol but i wonder if this could be made non alcoholic as it looks so good!

    Like

  9. aniahalama says:

    What a great spin on a bloody! I’ve never tried caesar but I sure do love bloodies, if this tastes anything like them I’m in. Looks delicious

    Like

  10. Anosa says:

    This looks so refreshing and would be perfect on a summers garden having a lovely BBQ with friends and family

    Like

  11. vishalgmr1971 says:

    I am like you, doesn’t like TOMATOES at all. So this drink – tomato is what I would like? Time to try it this weekend.

    Like

  12. trmeson says:

    This looks refreshing. Though, I wonder if there is a non-alcoholic version. I am not much of a drinker, but would love to try it one day.

    Like

  13. Chemady says:

    I would rather go for the non-acoholic type. This looks refreshing

    Like

  14. This looks good and refreshing. I think I would love this. A little taste first, savour it then yum yum the rest.

    Like

  15. Svadore says:

    1. Love your blog layout. 2. Love this recipe, will need to try it

    Like

Leave a Reply

